Clean Water Celebration

The SUN Foundation presents the 26th Clean Water Celebration: Plastic Debris from Rivers to the Sea


Junk+arriving,+photo+by+Morgan+KavanaughClean Water Celebration 2018 will be held on April 22nd and 23rd, 2018

Two Days, Three Events for Middle School, High School, and College Students and the General Public!

The theme for this year is “Plastic Debris from Rivers to the Sea”.  Marcus Eriksen, Research Director and co-founder of the 5 Gyres Institute, will be our keynote speaker.



Sun Foundation  CWC 2018 Keynote speaker:Marcus-5-gyres

Marcus Eriksen

Research Director and co-founder of the 5 Gyres Institute. He studies the global distribution and ecological impacts of plastic marine pollution, which has included expeditions sailing through all 5 subtropical gyres, Bay of Bengal, Southern Ocean and inland lakes and rivers, recently publishing the first global estimate of all plastic of all sizes floating in the world’s oceans, totaling 270,000 metric tons from 5.25 trillion particles. In 2013 he and colleagues published the discovery of microbeads in the Great Lakes, which became the cornerstone for a US-based campaign to eliminate plastic microbeads from cosmetics, resulting in the Microbead-Free Waters Act, which became US federal law in 2015.


EXHIBITORS-See below for exhibition opportunities on Monday, April 23rd!

Tentative Schedule:img_2683

SUNDAY, APRIL 22, 2018


Peoria Riverfront

4:00 PM outside the Gateway Building, 200 NE Water St.., Peoria, IL

– (FREE!) Public invited Donations accepted.

Parade of Waters and Native American Blessing of the Waters by Jimmy Lakota and Brian Fox Ellis. Bring a small container of water from your local surface or groundwater source. A photograph will be taken of all present, former participants and alumni of the Clean Water Program following the Parade of waters.

SUNDAY, APRIL 22, 2017


LECTURE 6:30 pm

Trailside Event Center (Trefzger’s), 4416 North Prospect, Peoria Heights

KEYNOTE SPEAKER: Marcus Eriksen, Plastic Debris from Rivers to the Sea

Dinner & Lecture               Adults $25, Students $15

Lecture Only (6:30 p.m.)    FREE. Donations accepted

Online Registration will open in January, 2018,  or register by phone (309-246-8403).

Limited walk-ins available

Reservations & Payment to:

The Sun Foundation

1276 Sun Road

Washburn, IL 61570

or via the online registration.

Deadline for Reservation April 15


MONDAY, APRIL 23, 2018

Clean Water Celebration Environmental Classroom

For Middle and High Schools and Groups (FREE)

Public is invited (FREE) Donations accepted.

Peoria Civic Center 201 SW Jefferson Ave. Peoria

Interactive exhibits, streams & breakout sessions: 9:00 AM to 2:00 PM

No pre-registration required for the general public, schools are asked to pre-register to schedule their session choices (Registration form for schools and groups will be posted below in January, 2018 )

Keynote Sessions: 9 and 11am

Marcus Eriksen, Plastic Debris from Rivers to the Sea

The “Making Waves” award in recognition of outstanding work for the environment and water resources for area schools, individuals, and businesses will also be presented.






img_2672The Sun Foundation invites students, teachers, community leaders, and the general public to attend the Peoria Clean Water Celebration. This two day, three event program takes place in three different locations (Peoria Riverfront, Trailside Event Center, and Peoria Civic Center). Clean Water Celebration encourages us to learn to improve water quality, to think critically and creatively about adequate and safe water supplies, and to promote the wise use of natural resources.

img_3610The Clean Water Celebration is a conference for middle/high school students, general public and focuses on water. Keynote sessions are presented to large audiences or these students to create a base of knowledge that will help them be better waste stewards. Smaller breakout sessions focus on specific water quality issues that teachers can choose for their classes to study.



Clean Water Exhibitors:

The registration form for Exhibitors wishing to have booths at the Clean Water Celebration will be posted in January, 2018.  Exhibitions will be held on April 23rd, with setup times available on both the 22nd and 23rd.





Interested in planning your own Clean Water Celebration? Click Here to learn how 

Clean Water Celebration Sponsors-THANK YOU!

CWC Sun Journal Sponsor Sheet 2017

 2017 Sponsors (Donations received by February 8, 2017)
(Alphabetical Order)
Ameren Illinois
Caterpillar Foundation
Central Region Groundwater Protection Committee
CF Industries

Community Foundation of Central Illinois

Eureka Savings
Greater Peoria Sanitary and Sewage District
The Hive
Howard and Howard
 Illinois American Water Company
 Illinois Arts Council

JC Dillon

Kelly Seed

Kohls (Peoria and East Peoria stores)

Labors’ International Union of North America Local No. 165
 Living Lands and Waters
 Maui Jim, Inc.
 Mark Twain Hotel
 Miles C. Hauter Foundation
Muir Family Fund
 Peoria Area Convention and Visitors Bureau
 Peoria Civic Center
 Peoria County Recycling and Resource Conservation
 Peoria Flag and Decorating
 Prospect TV and Sound
 Regional Office of Education 48

River City Construction

Rotary Club of Lacon

Sun Foundation
Sun Foundation Board of Directors
 Tazewell County Health Department
 Trailside Center
 Tazewell County Solid Waste Planning
 Tri-County Regional Planning Commission
University of Illinois Extension
 Village of Hennepin
 Winter Warming Children’s Program’s Fundraising Event Committee
 Charles Allen

Karen and Robert Bartelt

Mary Jean Bowman

 Maury Brucker

Michael F. Coffman

Larry & Debra Dalton

Bernard and Becky DeRubeis

Susannah, Alahi, Peter Dintzis

 Joan and Bob Ericksen

Ronald and Joanne Ericksen

Joan French

Carole Gilfilan

Rudolph Habben
 Steve and Nancy Havera
 Harry and Jane Hendrickson

Jim & Holmes, Peggy Hicks

Barbara and Bernard Hobin

Doug and Kathy Holmes

Terry and John Jacob

Michael Jacob

Michael and Mary Jane Johnson

Terry and Cynthia Jones

Steve and Nancy Jones

M. Michele Kelly

Janet ad Gary Kemp

David and Miriam Kennell

Mark Kilty

Lionel and Vilma Kinney

Keith Kostelecky

Larry Leiken

 William and Barbara Lervaag
 Douglas and Eileen Leunig
Dina Lunken, DDS. B.C.

Aleksandar and Nadezda Manov

Lawrence Matthews

Lila J and Russell A McCulley

 Elliot Murray

Ann Pastucha

Gerald Pini

Shawn and Jacqueline Quinn

 Terrance and Joann Quinn

Curtis Ribando

 Delores and Robert Ritter
Patrick and Donna Sloan
Harry Stone

John Vellenga

Scot Velling

Donald and Debera White

 Dr. Robert A. Williams
 Emiko Yang
 Karen and Richard Zuckerman