Community Arts Access Grant Program

The Sun Foundation has been awarded a $10,095 grant from the Illinois Arts Council to be used for 2015 community & public arts programs for re-granting in Bureau, Marshall, Stark and Woodford Counties!


The funds available for the Community Arts Access Re-Granting Program is made possible by the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency, and local community contributions. Funds of up to $1,000 per program are available for schools, libraries, community artists and arts groups in the counties of Bureau, Marshall, Stark and Woodford.

To apply for a Community Art Access Grant, please fill out this grant application and return it to the Sun Foundation. Grant applications must be received no later than noon on November 7, 2014. 2015 CAA Application

If assistants is needed in writing the Community Arts Access Grant, or have any other questions, please contact our program coordinator: 

Katy Watson



The Review Committee will use the following review criteria:

Projects must be for non-profit groups, organizations, schools and individual artists with projects and programs that are presented from:  To be announced

l.    Involvement of Illinois artists and/or groups.

2.   Community involvement and access.

3.   Need for financial support.

4.   Ways the grant will strengthen the organization or individual artists project.

5.   How will the project impact the community and reach under-represented & under-served populations.

6.   Quality of the project.

7.   Project goals.

8.   25% cash match.

9.   In-kind, non-cash contributions.

10.   Publicity – visibility of the project.

11.   Foster cultural development of under-represented populations within your service area.

12.   Documentation of the scheduled project; film, video and printed materials.

Grant cannot be used for artistic programs or functions where artists are not the primary focus. Grants cannot be used to support fundraising projects, benefits, receptions or other social functions.

Grant funds will not be awarded for capital expenditures, permanent equipment, funding for out of state touring, scholarships or deficit funding. All projects must have a public community service emphasis to be funded.

Grant Review:  A 1 to 5 point system is applied to each grant, 5 being the highest point rating.

If applications exceed available funds, grants with the highest rating and priority number will receive funding.

Community Arts Access Regranting Program 2014 Awardees

The Illinois Arts Council, a state agency, awarded the Sun Foundation a $9,650 grant for community & public arts programs for re-granting in Bureau, Marshall, Stark and Woodford Counties. Through other necessary public funds, we were able to award $10,856.25 total to the grantees!

Metamora Grade School was awarded $1,000 for Junior High students to go on a field trip to Peoria Riverfront Museum for the Chihuly Exhibit.

Malden CCSD #84, awarded $1,000 for “Don’t Throw that Away, We can use it for an Art Project!”with 2 and 3 dimensional art.

Illinois Alliance for Arts Education was awarded $1,000 for a 2 week summer theatre arts camp for youth ages 8-18.

Future of Henry Events Committee, awarded $1,000 for “Brown Bag It”.

Henry Community CHARACTER COUNTS was awarded $1,000 for Tim Hannig’s “Pro-Kids Show”.

Marshall Putnam Stark Show Choir was awarded two $1,000 grants to hire professional a music instructor and choreographer.

River Valley Players was awarded $1,000 for students ages 5-14 to workshop and learn elements of production for Disney’s “Little Mermaid Jr.”

Cherry Grade School was awarded $1,000 to provide the students with different artistic disciplines.

Toulon Public Library was awarded $1,000 for “Paws to Read” summer reading program.

Prairie Arts Council was awarded $500 in order to enhance and expande the Summer Children’s Arts camps with art teacher Kathy Ballard and assistant, Jill Marti.

MPW Regional Safe School Program was awarded $1,053.46 to provide students with artistic instruction to express thoughts, ideas and feelings.


A big THANK YOU to all of the following donors: the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency, Hallmark Metamora Fixtures, Meta Tec. Inc., State Bank of Toulon, Henry State Bank, State Bank of Cherry, First National Bank of Lacon, Henry Rotary Club, and Heartland Bank & Trust for their community support.



Community Arts Access


  Public Arts programing.

1990 to Current



The program is funded by an awarded grant from the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency and matching funds from Sun Foundation local business and individual donors.
Since then, $423,000 in Grants have been awarded to artists, libraries, schools and arts organizations throughout a seven county area: Marshall, Peoria, Putnam, Woodford,
La Salle, Bureau and Stark.